About Abacus

01. About formats

I often wonder if the notion of ‘our’ faulting attention span is not necessarily a product of the ever growing access to stimuli. Moreover, there appears to be a shift in the day-to-day-priorities of the consumer, and I increasingly think…

Read more

02. About songs

I have always invested myself in compositional ideas above all else. They are intentions for a musical design of absolute candor, and for me that defines creativity at its infancy. Certainly the process that will later unfold is never truly…

Read more

03. About Abacus

Abacus comprises material was never intended to be recorded. It certainly wasn’t intended to be released. It wasn’t supposed to have a life on its own and it wasn’t supposed to take on a final form. I think most artists…

Read more


2021 / Novum Music BN01

Produced and Engineered by Bjørn Nes
Tracks recorded by Bjørn Nes (1-12) at Lazarus Studio (Oslo), Hisøy Kirke (Arendal)
Additional recording by Augustus Clark (3)
Mixed by Bjørn Nes
Mastered by Don Bartley

All songs written by Bjørn Nes except where noted:

01. 1983 Overture / Element of Crime
02. Hotel Royale *
03. Boy Bye (Superstars)
04. Othello and I **
05. Guitar Quintet in F-Major, I. Opening
06. Guitar Quintet in F-major, II. Debutante
07. Guitar Quintet in F-Major, III. Lento
08. Guitar Quintet in F-Major, IV. Fughetta Fantasia
09. Shadow Self **
10. The Phantom
11. If I Die in a Combat Zone, Box Me Up and Ship Me Home ***
12. Maelstrom

*      Bjørn Nes, Robert A. K. Pedersen
**      Bjørn Nes, Augustus Clark, Erlend Omdal
***    Bjørn Nes, Augustus Clark

Bjørn Nes: vocals, electric guitar, acoustic guitar, bass (1-12)
Robert A. K. Pedersen:  piano (1-4, 9-12)
Erlend Omdal: drums (1-4, 9-12)

Horus Quartet
Gina Bordini: first violin (2, 5-8)
Nhi Phuong Do: second violin (2, 5-8)
Audun Klaveness: viola  (2, 5-8)
Ema Grčman: cello (2, 5-8)
Additional Personnel:
Ole Tobias Antonsen: percussion (3, 4, 9, 10, 11)
Augustus Clark: bass (9)
Toto Kruse: saxophone (4, 9)
Petter Smith Lien: trumpet (4, 9)
Mikkel Østhaug: backing vocals (1, 4, 9, 10, 11)
Silje North: backing vocals (1, 9, 10, 11)
Sara M. Berg Myrvold: backing vocals (11)